Powys Games Winners

Each Olympic year Powys runs a year long multi sporting olympic event. The categories are overall best school and the school that wins the most medals per pupil who attend that school. This year Caereinion was the winner in both categories.

Mr Gary Oldham came and presented the shield to the head boy and girl along with some of the pupils who had taken part in the event.


Under 12’s & 14’s Football

The Under 12’s and 14’s both played Welshpool High School on Wednesday night. It was a mixed fortune for the school with the Under 12’s losing 2-0, and the Under 14’s coming back to win 3-2 after a hard fought game.


The Under 14’s had a tough game, coming back twice to finally win the game 3-2. Aled Davies scored the winning goal, with Steffan scoring twice.


Innovations Awards

Eifion and Ryan, two former pupils who left Caereinion High School in the summer have both been chosen to have their work exhibited at the WJEC innovation awards. It is a 2 day event in both Cardiff and Bangor.


The Innovation Awards is a prestigious competition and an interactive showcase for the most innovative project work at GCSE and A level Design and Technology. The WJEC work in conjunction with Welsh Government’s Department of Economy Science and Transport to encourage young people in Wales to be technologically innovative and appreciate the importance of design and technology.


The event will give industrialists, teachers and students the opportunity to see the best work of students aged 16 – 18 in Wales. The most innovative projects of 80 students at GCSE, AS and A level will be showcased and team of distinguished judges will select a winner at each level as well as an overall winner.

6th Form Head Pupils

The new head pupils of Caereinion High School are: Liam Whittington – Head Boy, Rhian Williams – Head Girl, and deputies Hanna Morgan, Eve Sulley, Reece Templeton and Jake Eaton.  Congratulations to them all.

Hanna, Reece, Liam, Rhian, Jake & Eve


Bowling Trip

Congratulations to 7B who won the attendance competition this year. It was very close in the end, with 7B just pipping 8M to first spot.

1. 7B – 98.6%

2. 8M – 98.4%

3. 7G & 8C – 98.2%.

The winners were awarded with a bowling trip to Shrewsbury, with a McDonalds on the way home. Well Done 7B.



Prize Giving Evening

It was great to see students, past and present attend the recent prize giving evening. The winners of the special prizes were:

Roger Astley Cup for G.C.S.E. – Rhian Williams, The Aled Jones Cup for Endeavour – Iwan Evans, The Gwenllian Hughes Cup for Cultural Activites – Lwsi Morgan & Lynfa Jones, The Stephanie Robinson Cup for History – Holly Sherwood, The David Bennett Cup for Mathematics –Delyth & Ffion Williams, The Theodra Cup for Welsh – Catrin Howells, The Anwen Orrells Cup for Geography – Lynfa Jones & Lwsi Morgan, The Wilma Harris Cup for Food tech – Rhys James,  The Allen Tudor Progress Cup – Iwan Evans, The Wyn Astley Cup for Games – Katie Jones & Aimee Breakwell, The John Ellis Cup for Physical Ed – Charlie Davies, Welsh Learner Certificate – Melissa Knight, English Certificate – Kieran Judge, Biology Certificate – Delyth Williams, The Mair Lloyd Cup for Art – Lwsi Morgan, The Lyn Evans Cup for effort &          perserverance throughout school career – Sian Jones, Vivien Morgan Cup for outstanding academic contribution to school – Owen McArdle, Design & Technology Certificate – Ifan Huws & Eifion Jones, Science Award – Delyth Williams, The Caroline Evans Cup for Outstanding Contribution-Oasis Group,  WLS Prize for agriculture-Jemma Astley & Aaron Bridgen, Prize for Religious Education-Laura Bristow, John Lewis Prize – Head Girl-Catrin Howells, John Lewis Prize – Head Boy-Ben Sulley, Modern Foreign Language certifcate – Owen McArdle Dilys Jones Cup for Music-Lynfa Jones 





100% Attendance

Congratulations to all those pupils who have had 100% attendance in the first two terms of school. This is a great achievement. Keep it up!

Blwyddyn 7/Year 7
Blwyddyn 8/Year 8
Blwyddyn 9/Year 9
Blwyddyn 10/ Year 10
Blwyddyn 11/ Year 11